Allahabad's Only Complete Portal + Yellow Pages + Bussiness Directory

Allahabad University

The University of Allahabad, founded in 1887, has an old and distinguished tradition of learning and scholarship. Established on 23rd September 1887, it is the fourth oldest university of India after Calcutta, Bombay and Madras University.

The campus of the University is spread over in the sprawling city of Allahabad.

The University of Allahabad is also called "Oxford of East"

Allahabad University has always occupied an esteemed place among the universities of India for over a century now.

On September 23, 1887 Act XVIII was passed which established the Allahabad University. Like the Universities of Calcutta, Bombay and Madras, the Allahabad University also started as a degree conferring institution.

Sir William Muir, then Lt. Governor of United Provinces conceived the idea of setting up a large Central College at Allahabad, eventually to develop into a University. As a result of his initiative the foundation stone of the Muir Central College (named after him) was laid on Dec. 9 1873 by His Excellency Lord Northbrook.

In 1904 the Indian Universities Act was passed which limited the territorial jurisdiction of Allahabad University to the United Provinces of Agra and Awadh, the Central Provinces including Berar, Ajmer, Mewar and most of the states of Rajputana and Central Indian Agencies.

With the promulgation of the Allahabad University Act in 1921, the Muir Central College lost its independent existence. Between 1922-27 the University had its internal and external wings which were subsequently separated from the University to give the latter a purely unitary, and residential character.

In 2005, Allahabad University was granted the status of a Central University of India by an act of the Indian Parliament.

Listed below are academic departments offering degrees and performing research at the University:

Faculty of Arts

Ancient History
Arabic and Persian
English & Modern European Languages
Medieval & Modern History
Music & Performing Arts
Physical Education
Political Science
Journalism and Mass Communication
U G C - Academic Staff College

Faculty of Commerce

Motilal Nehru Institute of Research & Business Administration (MONIRBA)

Faculty of Law


Faculty of Science

Bio-Chemistry & Home Science
Defence and Strategic Studies
Earth & Planetary Sciences
Electronics & Communication
Mathematics & Statistics

Institute of Inter Disciplinary Studies

Institute of Professional Studies



Allahabad University has a number of famous residential hostels that houses students for the duration of their study. The hostels have also been breeding ground for the leaders of modern India as a number of past and present politicians, administrators, academicians and literary figures stayed at these hostels. 

Many Colleges are affiliated to AU.

Allahabad Degree College
C.M.P Degree College
Arya Kanya Degree College
Jagat Taran Girls Degree College


Famous alumni include:
Dr. Shankar Dayal Sharma, Former President of India
Motilal Nehru
Chandra Shekhar, Former Prime Minister of India
Surya Bahadur Thapa
Maharishi Mahesh Yogi
Harivansh Rai Bachchan
Govind Ballabh Pant
Acharya Narendra Deb
Ranganath Mishra, former Chief Justice of India
K.N. Singh, former Chief Justice of India
Gopal Swarup Pathak, former Vice President of India
Gulzari Lal Nanda, former Prime Minister of India
Prof. Kundan Singh Singwi, Physicist
Prof. Harish Chandra, Mathematician
Prof. Govind Swarup, Physicist
H.N. Bahuguna, former Deputy Prime Minister of India
Dr. Murali Manohar Joshi, former Union Minister, Human Resource & Development